Dispensationalism and the 144,000

A great number of churches are worse than lukewarm today, many –or most– of the church bodies that used to be at least sincerely evangelical (obedient to the Great Commission) are falling into apostasy.

But to say the 144,000 “will be Jews” begs a lot of questions. God is not a liar, and neither is his Son Christ Jesus, who said that the Kingdom of God would be taken from them and given to a nation bringing forth the fruits thereof, and who said their leaders were of their father the Devil.

Hal Lindsey’s “Late Great Planet Earth” was one of the things that influenced me on my way to the returning to Jesus and on to missionary work with a “Jesus People” movement. But in that book, I was startled by one very important admission of his: He said that in trying to find scripture to back up his opinion that Jesus would return before the Rapture, he could not find any, but he believed it anyway.

Since then in Bible study it jumped out at me in Matthew 24 when Jesus said he would return, after the Tribulation. Recently a couple of people tried to convince me on this based on Dispensationalism, which to me is such a torture of semantics and legalese that it should make the most depraved lawyer blush.

Biblical prophecies come with corroborations. The Jews’ genealogies were testimony to Jesus’ lineage as son of David, as recorded in Matthew and Luke. The records were later destroyed.

So what did the twelve tribes mean in the 144,000? I don’t know. Pick any “Jew” at random as we know them today. If you check their genealogies, will it lead back to Dan or Judah or Benjamin? May or may not. Does DNA make the Jew? Ask Ahab and Jezebel. Ask Jesus:

Luke 3:8 Bring forth therefore fruits worthy of repentance, and begin not to say within yourselves, We have Abraham to our father: for I say unto you, That God is able of these stones to raise up children unto Abraham.

Does “becoming a Jew” qualify, according to the studying a rabbi’s son told me once is the way to become one? –He had asked me if I wanted to become a Jew. Get a Pharisees’ stamp of approval. Not even Jews in Israel agree on what a Jew is.

Was Ruth a Jew? I think so. How about Rahab? I think so. How about Moses’ Ethiopian wife? I think so. How about the “many of the people of the land” who “became Jews” that day in the book of Esther?

I didn’t realize I was physically circumcised until after I was a missionary, but I am a Jew because I’ve had circumcision of the heart:

Romans 2:28 For he is not a Jew, which is one outwardly; neither is that circumcision, which is outward in the flesh:

29 But he is a Jew, which is one inwardly; and circumcision is that of the heart, in the spirit, and not in the letter; whose praise is not of men, but of God.

Matthew 3:9 And think not to say within yourselves, We have Abraham to our father: for I say unto you, that God is able of these stones to raise up children unto Abraham.

What happened to the great numbers of the northern tribes of Israel that were scattered by the Assyrians and assimilated? Are their Arab descendants of today Jews?

Certainly the 144,000 will be Jews. But I’m still undecided about exactly what God means by that passage, but I am absolutely certain that none of them will be a Pharisee, or a Saducee, or anybody else that rejects Christ as saviour, and none of them will be there for their DNA either, because that would be contrary to God’s word.

Jesus is the door:

John 10:1 ¶Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that entereth not by the door into the sheepfold, but climbeth up some other way, the same is a thief and a robber.

2 But he that entereth in by the door is the shepherd of the sheep.

The rabbis and the Jews that are following them are following thieves and robbers. I love them dearly, and I learned much of the Biblical principles from Christians from Jewish families, but the religion and culture we know of as Jewish today broke off from the law and the prophets when they rejected Jesus and began expelling us from their synagogues.

One Response to “Dispensationalism and the 144,000”

  1. When Is Jesus Coming Back | bummyla Says:

    […] Dispensationalism and the 144,000 (truebook.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

